“Guardians of the Galaxy” Soundtrack Coming to Cassette Tape in November

The year’s most popular movie soundtrack is coming to cassette tape. That’s right! The Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Vol. 1 will be available on cassette in limited release starting on November 17th. The soundtrack is already available on CD, digital download and vinyl. Awesome Mix Vol. 1 includes the following classic tracks:

1. Blue Swede – “Hooked on a Feeling”
2. Raspberries – “Go All the Way”
3. Norman Greenbaum – “Spirit in the Sky”
4. David Bowie – “Moonage Daydream”
5. Elvin Bishop – “Fooled Around and Fell in Love”
6. 10cc – “I’m Not in Love”
7. Jackson 5 – “I Want You Back”
8. Redbone – “Come and Get Your Love”
9. The Runaways – “Cherry Bomb”
10. Rupert Holmes – “Escape (the Pina Colada Song)”
11. The Five Stairsteps – “O-O-H Child”
12. Marvin Gaye/Tammi Terrell – “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”

GOTG Awesome Mix Vol. 1 Cassette Tape
Photo Credit: Marvel Music/Hollywood Records


Guardians of the Galaxy is 2014’s highest grossing film, and the soundtrack plays a huge role in the story. Not only are the songs are featured heavily throughout the film, they are also on a mix tape in Peter Quill’s 1980’s Sony Walkman which was given to him by his deceased mother.

The limited edition GOTG cassette, released by Marvel Music/Hollywood Records, will be available through retailers participating in Record Store Day through Dec. 31. Each cassette also comes with a digital download version of the album. It is not yet known how many copies of the retro style cassette will be released.

Guardians of the Galaxy will release on DVD and Blu-ray on December 9th.



via Billboard